Real Estate Videos: A Tale of Two Properties in Steamboat Springs

I made a couple real estate videos this week of a couple Steamboat Springs properties.

Subject 1 – A Horse Property: an amazing horse property in Strawberry Park listed at $4,900,000. Objective – appeal to the wealthy. To those looking for that special property.

Subject 2 – Old Town Charmer: an adorable bungalow in Old Town Steamboat for $365,000. Objective – appeal to the  younger, first time buyers.

A horse property 

I wanted to capture the essence of this property. It’s not just about the home. It’s the setting, the barns, the openness, the pond, the amazing garage, and the wonderful location. And I wanted to bring it to life. To get the viewers engaged and want to be there. So here’s my plan:

Ranch in Steamboat Springs

Ranch in Steamboat Springs

  • Use friends and family as talent (visual stimulus)
  • Use professional narration to add details while viewing (auditory stimulus)
  • Use good music to keep the flow going (auditory stimulus)
  • Use good camera angles and light (visual stimulus)
Shooting the video:
  • I wrote the narration which gave me direction and the pace for the video
  • I created a storyboard to go with the narration so I get the right shots
  • I took the video at specific times of the day to get the best light
  • I created a schedule for my talent as to not waste time
Editing the video – I edited to the narration. I tried to keep it as short as possible.
Time – How long did it take?
  • Tour property and visualize video = 4 hours
  • Writing narration and storyboard = 6 hours
  • Shooting video = 8 hours
  • Editing video = 6 hours
Old Town home for sale

Old Town home for sale

I wanted to attract the young hip buyers who a drawn to cruiser bikes and love Old Town Steamboat for the prime location. I wanted to reach small families looking to live close schools and shops and be right in town. So here’s my plan:
  • Keep the video short. It’s a small home
  • Use catchy music that will keep viewers engaged
  • Use interesting angles when shooting
Shooting, Editing and Time – I shot in the afternoon because the light is nice and the sun is warm. Editing was a little tricky because I wanted to cut to the music and keep people watching. I was editing for the younger crowd. Time was about 6 hours total. I spend a while going over music to find the right piece but to me, that’s the glue that makes it work.
Here are the video from the past week. A Horse Property and an Old Town Charmer.
Thanks for viewing my post. Would love your comments.  Charlie
About SteamboatsMyHome.com

Originally from Seattle, Washington, Charlie relocated to Steamboat Springs with his wife Carol and their son, Finn, to become a Steamboat Springs realtor eager to share the joys of Colorado. Charlie is a second generation realtor and is proud to be a member of Steamboat Sotheby's International Realty in Steamboat Springs, Colorado. After graduating from Whitman College in Walla Walla, Washington, Charlie worked in the high-tech industry in Seattle for several years before deciding to follow his father's lead and began his career in real estate. Working for Windermere Real Estate in Seattle, Charlie had a great, innovative career in the highly competitive Seattle market before moving to Steamboat in 2005 and delving deep into Steamboat Springs real estate. At Steamboat Sotheby's International Realty, Charlie has become one of the top agents with his innovative style and tireless perseverance.
This entry was posted in Buying and Selling Real Estate, Real Estate video and photography, Steamboat Lifestyle, Steamboat real estate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

